About Me

Olivier Estoppey - Professional Career

Through well-founded training and varied experience in tax and financial consulting, I am trained to work in a structured manner, to understand customer requirements and to respond to them individually. In asset management, I combine these skills with my longstanding passion for investing in order to offer tailor-made solutions.

Education and Qualifications

I studied law and economics at the University of St. Gallen (HSG). In addition, I was already thoroughly engaged in value investing during my studies. Therefore I experienced the financial crisis as an active investor.

During my studies I was actively engaged in the Association for Student Consulting. As project manager and president of the association, I was able to gain valuable early experience in consulting and management functions.


As a financial advisor at VZ Vermögenszentrum for clients, I dealt in particular with the following topics:

  • Development of income and wealth planning concepts
  • Retirement planning & tax optimization for private individuals
  • Preparation ans assessment of investment proposals

In cooperation with the tax division, I was able to support Bank CIC Switzerland in the following areas:

  • Clarification of specialised aspects in international tax law
  • Custody account analyses in a tax context
  • Tax statements for international tax purposes

For several years I was advising customers at PricewaterhouseCoopers on challenging topics such as:

  • Tax and financial optimisation for corporate and private clients
  • Business Development of major banks
  • Presentation of accounting as a management tool

My project in the Operations Legal department of Swiss Re included the following tasks:

  • Analysis and evaluation of process workflows
  • Introduction of a new record management system
  • Coordination and training of 140 employees

Trustworthy and With Highest Quality Standards

As a member of the VQF, I have committed myself to offering high-quality services in accordance with officially recognised code of conduct.

 

The VQF is a self-regulatory organisation (SRO) officially recognised by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) in accordance with the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA). VQF is also an industry organisation for independent asset managers (BOVV). Its members are committed to complying with the "Code of Professional Conduct for the exercising of asset management" officially recognised by FINMA since 23 April 2009.

Investment Philosophy - Long-Term and Value-Oriented

Time and again I am asked what the best way to invest successfully is. A final answer cannot be given. Success depends in particular on the investment strategy.

 

In the late 1990s I followed the stock market boom and the bursting of the .com bubble at the turn of the millennium. What struck me was that share prices did often not reflect the actual course of business of the companies.

 

I started looking for solid answers. I finally found a good approach in "Value-Oriented Investing". The conservative, long-term approach best suited my ideas of investing hard-earned money wisely.

 

For more than ten years I have been pursuing my passion for value investing. I analyse and evaluate companies in order to identify good investment opportunities. I experienced both the financial crisis in 2007/08 and the sovereign debt crisis in 2010/11 as an active investor. The Value Investing strategy was my anchor in these times of rough seas. On the one hand I slept peacefully, on the other hand there were numerous opportunities to buy shares of good companies at incredibly low prices.

 

Understandably, many people cannot spend the time required to gain and apply the necessary knowledge. To those very individuals I would like to offer my services with a reliable, independent asset management.

Über mich

Olivier Estoppey - beruflicher Werdegang

Durch eine fundierte Ausbildung und vielseitige Erfahrungen in der Steuer- und Finanzberatung bin ich darin geschult, strukturiert vorzugehen, Kundenwünsche zu verstehen und individuell darauf einzugehen. In der Vermögensverwaltung verbinde ich diese Fähigkeiten mit meiner langjährigen Leidenschaft für das Investieren, um massgeschneiderte Lösungen anzubieten.

Ausbildung und Qualifikationen

Logo der Universität St. Gallen

Mein Studium in Rechtswissenschaften mit Wirtschaftswissenschaften absolvierte ich an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG). Zudem befasste ich mich bereits im Verlaufe der Studienzeit, eingehend mit dem Value Investing.

Logo von Esprit St. Gallen studentische Unternehmensberatung

Während der Studienzeit engagierte ich mich aktiv im Verein für studentische Unternehmensberatung. Als Projektleiter und Präsident des Vereins durfte ich wertvolle erste Erfahrungen in Beratungs- und Führungsfunktionen sammeln.


Als Finanzberater behandelte ich beim VZ Vermögenszentrum für Kundinnen und Kunden insbesondere folgende Themen:

  • Ausarbeiten von Einkommens- und Vermögenskonzepten
  • Pensionierungsplanung & Steuer-optimierung für Privatpersonen
  • Beurteilen von Anlagen und Erstellen von Anlagevorschlägen

Die Bank CIC Schweiz durfte ich in Zusammenarbeit mit der Steuerabteilung in folgenden Aufgabengebieten unterstützen:

  • Klärung fachlicher Fragen im internationalen Steuerrecht
  • Depotanalysen im steuerlichen Zusammenhang
  • Steueraufstellungen für internationale Steuerzwecke

Während mehrerer Jahre konnte ich Kunden bei PricewaterhouseCoopers in spannenden Themen beraten:

  • Steuer- und Finanzoptimierung für Firmen- und Privatkunden
  • Business Development einer Grossbank
  • Präsentation des Rechnungs-wesens als Führungsinstrument
Logo von Swiss Re Rückversicherung

In der Abteilung Operations Legal der Swiss Re hatte ich unter anderem folgende Aufgaben:

  • Analyse und Auswertung von Prozessabläufen
  • Einführung eines neuen Record Management Systems
  • Koordination und Durchführung der Ausbildung von 140 Mitarbeitenden

Seriös und mit höchstem Qualitätsanspruch

Logo vom VQF Verein zur Qualitätssicherung von Finanzdienstleistungen

Als Mitglied des VQF, habe ich mich dazu verpflichtet hochwertige Dienstleistungen nach offiziell anerkannten Verhaltensregeln (Standesregeln) anzubieten.

Der VQF ist eine, offiziell von der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) anerkannte Selbstregulierungsorganisation (SRO) gemäss Geldwäschereigesetz (GwG). Zudem ist der VQF auch eine Branchenorganisation für unabhängige Vermögensverwalter (BOVV). Seine Mitglieder verpflichten sich, die von der FINMA seit dem 23. April 2009 offiziell anerkannten "Verhaltensregeln (Standesregeln) in Sachen Ausübung der Vermögensverwaltung" einzuhalten.

Anlagephilosophie - langfristig und wertorientiert

Immer wieder werde ich gefragt, was der beste Weg ist, um erfolgreich in Aktien zu investieren. Eine abschliessende Antwort dazu kann so nicht gegeben werden. Der Erfolg hängt insbesondere von der Anlagestrategie ab.

Ende der 90er Jahre verfolgte ich aufmerksam den Börsenboom und das Platzen der Dotcom-Blase zur Jahrtausendwende. Es schien mir auffällig, dass die Aktienkurse zeitweise nicht den eigentlichen Geschäftsgang der Unternehmen abbildeten.

Ich machte mich auf die Suche nach soliden Antworten. Gute Lösungsansätze fand ich schliesslich im "wertorientierten Investieren". Besser bekannt ist diese Anlagestrategie unter dem englischen Namen Value Investing. Die konservative, langfristige Vorgehensweise entsprach am besten meinen Vorstellungen, hart erarbeitetes Geld vernünftig zu investieren.

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren gehe ich nun meiner Leidenschaft, dem Value Investing nach. Ich analysiere Unternehmen und bewerte sie, um gute Investitionsmöglichkeiten ausfindig zu machen. Sowohl die Finanzkrise 2007/08 als auch die Staatsschuldenkrise 2010/11 erlebte ich als aktiver Investor. Die Value Investing Strategie war in diesen Zeiten mein Anker in rauer See. Einerseits konnte ich ruhig schlafen, andererseits boten sich zahlreiche Gelegenheiten, Aktien von guten Unternehmen zu unglaublich tiefen Kursen zu kaufen.

Verständlicherweise können viele Menschen die erforderliche Zeit nicht aufbringen, um sich das notwendige Wissen anzueignen und dieses anzuwenden. Genau für jene Personen möchte ich mit einer seriösen, unabhängigen Vermögensverwaltung, meine Dienstleistungen anbieten.